Skip to main content


 The Swiss university landscape consists of 10 cantonal universities and two federal institutes of technology, with the oldest institution having been founded in 1460 (University of Basel), and the youngest in 2000 (University of Lucerne). The 12 institutions are located across the German-, French- and Italian-speaking regions as follows:
  • Five universities are located in German-speaking Switzerland (the universities of Basel, Lucerne, St.Gallen, Zurich and the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zürich);
  • Two are in bilingual cantons (the universities of Bern and Fribourg);
  • Four are in French-speaking Switzerland (the universities of Geneva, Lausanne and Neuchâtel, as well as the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Lausanne); and
  • One is in the Italian-speaking canton of Ticino (Università della Svizzera italiana).
All institutions are recognized and publicly funded. Most of the larger Swiss universities cover all subjects and have medical schools, while others belong to the group of technical universities or universities of business and economics. They all offer degree programmes at bachelor, master’s and PhD level as well as in continuing/further education.The core missions of these traditional universities are fundamental research and research-based teaching. Many programmes are taught completely, or partly, in English.

***Obtained from

Let's take a closer look to some of the universities:


ETH Zurich


Founded in 1855, it today offers researchers an inspiring environment and students a comprehensive education as one of the leading international universities for technology and the natural sciences.





From its foundation in 1853, the young engineering school has grown in many dimensions, to the extent of becoming one of the most famous institutions of science and technology.





The University of Basel has an international reputation of outstanding achievements in research and teaching. Founded in 1460, the University of Basel is the oldest university in Switzerland and has a history of success going back over 550 years.





With its 26,000 enrolled students, the University of Zurich (UZH) is Switzerland's largest university. Founded in the year 1833, UZH was Europe's first university to be established by a democratic political system; today, UZH is one of the foremost universities in the German-speaking world. Made up of seven faculties covering some 100 different subject areas, the University offers a wide variety of Bachelor's, Master's and PhD programs.

              Also let's take look to one of the Applied Sciences and Arts universities:




The Zurich University of Applied Sciences (ZHAW; German: Zürcher Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften) located in the city of Winterthur, with facilities in Zurich and Wädenswil, is one of the largest University of Applied Sciences in Switzerland and is part of the Zürcher Fachhochschule.

ارتقاء امنیت وب با وف بومی